Sunday, October 23, 2016

Satono Diamond clinches Kikuka Sho title

Satono Diamond clinched the 3-year-old classic title as he won the grade one Kikuka Sho at Kyoto Sunday afternoon. Christophe Lemaire on Satono Diamond pulled away from the rest in the middle of the home stretch, winning it by a 2 1/2-length in 3 minute 3.30 seconds over 3,000 meters on firm ground. Rainbow Line was a nose better than Air Spinel to finish second. Another neck behind, Dee Majesty came fourth.

Trained by Y.Ikee and owned by H.Satomi, Satono Diamond has now improved his career record to 7-5-1-1 with more than 371 million jpn yeb in career earnings. Northern Racing was the breeder of the 3-year-old bay colt, by Deep Impact out of Malpensa, by Orpen.

Saturday, October 22, 2016

Young Man Powers in Fuji Stakes

Young Man Power ran behind the leading group to win the grade three 1,600-meter Fuji Stakes under Keita Tosaki at Tokyo Saturday. He won it in 1 minute 34 seconds flat by a 3/4-length from Isal Bonita. Another 1/2-length behind, Danon Platina came third.
Young Man Power is a 4-year-old colt by Snitzel out of Snapshot, by Sunday Silence.

Friday, October 21, 2016

Two big guns in 2016 Kikuka Sho

Satono Diamond and Dee Majesty are among the 18 horses entered for the 2016 Kikuka Sho(Japanese St. Leger), scheduled for October 23 at Kyoto Sunday.
Satono Diamond, who had a narrow second in the Japanese Derby behind Makahiki, got post 3.
Dee Majesty, who beat Makahiki and Satono Diamond when winning the Satsuki Sho(Japanese 2000 Guineas), had post 6.

The post position with riders for the 3,000-meter classic race for 3-year-olds is:

1 Kafuji Prince, Yasunari Iwata
2 George Cinq, Hideaki Miyuki
3 Satono Diamond, Christophe Lemaire
4 Super Lumiere, Hiroshi Kitamura
5 Miraieno Tsubasa, Yusuke Fujioka
6 Dee Majesty, Masayoshi Ebina
7 Red Eldest, Hirofumi Shii
8 Mikki Rocket, Ryuji Wada
9 Immortal, Fabrice Veron
10 Umbruch, Suguru Hamanaka
11 Rainbow Line, Yuichi Fukunaga
12 Cosmo Llave, Yuji Tannai
13 Air Spinel, Yutaka Take
14 Agnes Forte, Kohei Matsuyama
15 Satono Etoile, Kenichi Ikezoe
16 Prodigal Son, Hironobu Tanabe
17 Jun Vulcan, Mirco Demuro
18 Mount Robson, Yuga Kawada
All starters carry 57 kgs.

Main event at Tokyo on Oct.22

Saturday's main event at Tokyo will be the grade three Fuji Stakes. 11 horses have been entered for the 1,600-meter event.
The leading contenders could be Danon Platina, Young Man Power, Isla Bonita and Lord Quest.

1 Black Moon, 4c, 56, Yuga Kawada
2 Danon Platina, 4c, 57, Masayoshi Ebina
3 Young Man Power, 4c, 57, Keita Tosaki
4 Isla Bonita, 5h, 58, Christophe Lemaire
5 T M Inazuma, 6h, 56, Yoshihiro Furukawa
6 Meiner Aurato, 5h, 56, Daichi Shibata
7 Fluky, 6h, 57, Mirco Demuro
8 Garibaldi, 5h, 57, Yuichi Fukunaga
9 Musee Alien, 4c, 56, Norihiro Yokoyama
10 Black Spinel, 3c, 54, Takuya Ono
11 Lord Quest, 3c, 55, Kenichi Ikezoe

Sunday, October 16, 2016

Vivlos Shuka Sho heroine

Vivlos became a Shuka Sho heroine as she won the grade one filly classic on Sunday afternoon at Kyoto. Under the excellent control of Yuichi Fukunaga, Vivlos got up just in time to win the 2,000-meter race in 1 minute 58.60 seconds by a 1/2-length from Pearl Code with another  1/2-length back Kaiserball third. Trained by Y.Tomomichi and owned by K.Sasaki, Vivlos has now won three of her seven races with more than 125 million jpn yen in career earnings. Northren Racing was bred the 3-year-old brown filly, by Deep Impact out of the Machiavellian mare Halwa Sweet.