Tuesday, September 25, 2007

Brief history of Sprinters Stakes

The race was founded in 1967 as the most important event for sprinters. In introducing grading system in 1984, the Sprinters gained a g3 status and was upgraded to g2 in 1987. A g1 status was given in 1990. As the JRA program was modified in 2000, the event was held in early October for the first time. It has been running as an international race since 1994. The Sprinters Stakes, one of the two prominent sprint races(other is Takamatsunomiya Kinen), has built up its greatness as a sprint championship, and is the sixth leg of the Global Sprint
Challenge, inaugurated in 2005, which is made up of the seven sprint races.

Past 10 winners
2006 Takeover Target(AUS)(by Celtic Swing)
2005 Silent Witness(AUS)(by El Moxie)
2004 Calstone Light O(JPN)(by Warning)
2003 Durandal(JPN)(by Sunday Silence)
2002 Believe(JPN)(by Sunday Silence)
2001 Trot Star(JPN)(by Damister)
2000 Daitaku Yamato(JPN)(by Daitaku Helios)
1999 Black Hawk(GB)(by Nureyev)
1998 Meiner Love(USA)(by Seeking the Gold)
1997 Taiki Shuttle(USA)(by Devil's Bag)

No comments: