Sunday, April 14, 2013

Logotype wins Satsuki Sho in record time

Logotype won the Satsuki Sho(Japanese 2000 Guineas) under Mirco Demuro this afternoon at Nakayama. The Italian jockey rode the third Satsuki Sho winner to cover the 2,000-meter distance of the course record in 1 minute 58 seconds.

On the final bend, Logotype made up grounds on the outside, and he collared Epiphaneia at around 200 meters out. From there, Logotype took a good command in the last 200 meters before passing the winning post. Epiphaneia failed to keep up with him. Half a length separated the two. Third was, another 1 1/4-length behind, Codino with Camino Tassajara another 1 1/4-length back fourth.

The winning jockey Demuro comment:
I am very happy. He is a fantastic horse. He was under control during the race. The problem was the space on the final bend, but the space was opened up for us.

Trained by T. Tanaka and owned by T. Yoshida, Logotype has now won five in 8 starts with more than 279 million jpn yen in earnings. The Lohengrin colt out of the Sunday Silence mare Stereotype was bred by Shadai Farm.

Saturday, April 13, 2013

Epiphaneia favorite for 2013 Satsuki Sho

As of Saturday, Epiphaneia, winner of the g3 Radio Nikkei Hai Nisai Stakes, has been installed as the 3.9 favorite for the Satsuki Sho(Japanese 2000 Guineas) on Sunday at Nakayama. On his latest run in the g2 Yayoi Sho, he had a disappointing 4th, but supporters expect him to come back on winning trail. Regular rider Yuichi Fukunaga takes the mount.

Dual grade winner Codino was the 4.0 second favorite. Logotype, winner of the Spring Stakes, was the 4.4 third favorite with Yayoi Sho winner Camino Tassajara 7.6 fourth favorite.

The field of the 2013 Satsuki Sho is as follows:

1/Meikei Pega Star/Yusuke Fujioka
2/Imparator/Cristian Demuro
3/Red Ruler/Yuga Kawada
4/Narita Pirates/Futoshi Komaki
5/Tamamo Best Play/Ryuji Wada
6/Miyaji Taiga/Yoshitomi Shibata
7/Logotype/Mirco Demuro
8/Copano Richard/Hiroyuki Uchida
9/Satono Neptune/Keita Tosaki
10/Muzzle Fire/Andrasch Starke
11/Kurino Himalaya O/Issei Murata
12/Codino/Norihiro Yokoyama
13/Lovely Day/Suguru Hamanaka
14/Epiphaneia/Yuichi Fukunaga
15/Camino Tassajara/Masayoshi Ebina
16/Fame Game/Hiroshi Kitamura
17/Crown Regalo/Kosei Miura
18/T M Inazuma/Yutaka Take

Sunday, April 07, 2013

Demuro brothers one-two Oka Sho finish

Demuro brothers had a one-two finish in the Oka Sho as Cristian Demuro on Ayusan beat Micro Demuro on Red Oval this afternoon at Hansin Racecourse. Cristian finished a neck in front of older brother Micro to complete the 1,600-meter distance in 1 minute 35.00 seconds.

Ayusan and Red Oval emerged a head-to-head battle after they grabbed the lead from Kurofune Surprise. The best running of the two was Auyusan. Third was, a 2 1/2-length away from Red Oval, Princess Jack with another neck behind Kurofune Surprise fourth.

Ayusan, a 3-year-old daughter of Deep Impact and Buy the Cat by Storm Cat, has now won two in 5 starts for trainer T. Tezuka and owner J. Hoshino. Her career earnings brouight up to 143+ million jpn yen. Shimokobe Farm was the breeder of the bay filly.

Friday, April 05, 2013

Field set for Oka Sho

A field is set for the 2013 Oka Sho(Japanese 1000 Guineas) at Hanshin on Sunday. It looks like a wide-open contest.

Kurofune Surprise comes into the grade one event off victory in the grade three Tulip Sho, one of the major preps, on March 2. Her front running style might work.
Meisho Mambo, having won the last two outings, including the grade two Fillies' Revue last time out, may come from behind  even in the big field.

The post time for the grade one 1,600-meter event will be at 3:40 p.m. JST on Sunday, April 7th.

The field, in the post position order, with riders for the 73rd Oka Sho for 3-year-old fillies is:

1/Stalk and Ray/Shinji Fujita
2/Someries/Yusuke Fujioka
3/Crown Rose/Kosei Miura
4/Sambre et Meuse/Yasunari Iwata
5/Win Primera/Ryuji Wada
6/Robe Tissage/Shinichiro Akiyama
7/Ayusan/Genki Maruyama
8/Tiz Tremendous(USA)/Haruhiko Kawasu
9/Princess Jack/Yuichi Fukunaga
10/Sea Breeze Life/Katsuharu Tanaka
11/Sound Rihanna/Keita Tosaki
12/Tosen Soleil/Andrasch Starke
13/Kurofune Surprise/Yutaka Take
14/Red Oval/Mirco Demuro
15/Nancy Shine/Takuya Ono
16/Genie Magic/Yuga Kawada
17/Collector Item/Suguru Hamanaka
18/Meisho Mambo/Koshiro Take